2000’s SOMETHING- IS YELLOW BEAUTIFUL?

yellow

What happened to black is beautiful? Oh well, what era are we in?

I am still in my early 20’s, if the twist gets you wondering. I still recall of saying: “Black is beautiful”. Is it not anymore?

Black is beautiful is a cultural movement that was started in the United States of America in the 1960s by African Americans. It later spread to much of the black world, most prominently in the writings of the Black Consciousness Movement of Steve Biko in South Africa. It aims to dispel the notion in many world cultures that black people’s natural features such as skin colour, facial features and hair are inherently ugly.

John Stewart Rock was long thought to be the first to coin the phrase “black is beautiful”–during a speech in 1858– but historical records indicate he never actually used the specific phrase on that day. The movement also encouraged men and women to stop trying to eliminate African-identified traits by straightening their hair and attempting to lighten or bleach their skin.

The least be said. I am highly amazed how skin tones matter. Well, obsessed about. Young women can’t accept and embrace their dark tone pigments, instead they go extra mile to be fit-in and want to be duped “Yellow bone”. Recently, I have seen a variety of lighting product, not to mention names but I must admit, it is really disturbing.

Relatively to this is “whiting”. In a recent research, apparently, a Russian laboratory has invented a way to remove the black Skin layer of black People

According to a publication of the Russian Laboratory, researchers have developed a chemical process to whiten a person quickly. This is done with a mixture that includes oxytane and benzodiazepine. It would suffice to stay for 6 hours in a bath consisting of 50grams per liter of water. Then the skin peels off naturally. This is in fact the upper skin layer responsible for the color that can be removed.

This is unbelievable and yet real. This is a “Yellow is beautiful era.

2 thoughts on “2000’s SOMETHING- IS YELLOW BEAUTIFUL?

  1. I would love to read a link to athat article. It seems the inferiority complex of being black has mutated to become a fiend of predesposition passed down from generations. The media does not help as well, protraying white as beautiful than black escalates this fiendish belief. India has the darkest people in the world yet I’ve never seen a bollywood movie with any dark color skin person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well said. I could not say it any better. Oh well, I aim to edit that post to embed links to it. Thank you for the comment. I also intend expanding this piece to a solid written column I have to submit for journalism applied. This is very controversial issue I interested in sharing my opinion on. A good case study you have highlighted about Indian people. I am also amazed to have thought of this topic. I only picked it up when I had to illustrate how WordPress works with second year students. I loved it! Thank you for the inspiration.

      Like

Leave a Reply

