FAMILY, PLANTATIONS AND BLESSINGS

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Free Association.”

Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

Use those words in the title of your post

imagesCA5BGZON

My mind ran with words today. Its a lot more exciting than I thought and  a great way to recapitulate what the mind thinks. The first word which I thought of when I read the word ‘home’ was the word ‘family’. Slightly afterwards, words such as warmth, good food, laughter, fun, and charity came to my mind as I was thinking of the word ‘home’.

The smell of soil is great when it rains in Johannesburg. Its a smell you will never get anywhere in the world, my brother Arthur once said to me. I thought of the word plantations when I first read this word.

Rain is beautiful. I have gotten used to it the last few weeks before we crossed over to the year 2015. It rained cats and dogs, daily! Those were days of rain and at times I anticipated that it may or not rain.  You mistakenly forgotten the umbrella and when you have, it pours and when it does not rain,  you have toke the umbrella or rain coat with you all the way from home and you wish you had left it at home. It sure does not rain when you have stuffed it into your bag and you are getting annoyed of the space it has occupied. Weather is inconsistent anyway. Seasons come and seasons go. Literally, the first word that came to my mind when I thought of the word ‘rain’ is blessings. That is exactly what I perceive rain as.

FAMILY, PLANTATIONS AND BLESSINGS

2 thoughts on “FAMILY, PLANTATIONS AND BLESSINGS

Leave a Reply

