“MUSIC IS NOT ONLY ART, IT IS ACTIVISM”

“SAME LOVE” by Macklemore featuring Ryan Lewis

[Verse 1: Macklemore]

When I was in the third grade I thought that I was gay,

Cause I could draw, my uncle was, and I kept my room straight.

I told my mom, tears rushing down my face She’s like “Ben, you’ve loved girls since before pre-k, tripping.”

Yeah, I guess she had a point, didn’t she? Bunch of stereotypes all my head.

I remember doing the math like, “Yeah, I’m good at little league.”

A pre-conceived idea of what it all meant

For those that like the same sex

Had the characteristics

 The right wing conservatives think it’s a decision

 And you can cured with some treatment and religion

 Man-made rewiring of a pre-disposing

Playing God…Ahh, nah, here we go America the brave still fear what they don’t know and

“God loves all his children” is somehow forgotten

But we paraphrase a book written thirty-five hundred years ago

I don’t know

[Hook: Mary Lambert]

And I can’t change

 Even if I tried

Even if I wanted to

And I can’t change

 Even if I tried

 Even if I wanted to

 My love

 My love

My love

She keeps me warm

She keeps me warm

She keeps me warm

She keeps me warm

[Verse 2: Macklemore]

If I was gay, I would think hip pop hates me

Have you read the YouTube comments lately? “Man, that’s gay” gets dropped on the daily

 We become so numb to what we’re saying

 A culture founded from oppression

Yet we don’t have acceptance for ‘em

 Call each other faggots behind the keys of a message board

A word rooted in hate, yet our genre still ignores it

Gay is synonymous with the lesser

It’s the same hate that’s caused wars from religion

Gender to skin color, the complexion of your pigment

The same fight that led people to walk out and sit-ins

Its human rights for everybody, there is no difference

Live on! And be yourself!

When I was at church they taught me something else

If you preach hate at a service those words aren’t anointed

That holy water that soak in has been poisoned

 When everyone else is more comfortable remaining voiceless

Rather than fighting for humans that have had their rights stolen I might not be the same, but that’s not important

No freedom ‘til we’re equal, damn right that I support it.

[Trombone interlude]

I don’t know

[Hook]

[Verse 3: Macklemore]

We press play, don’t press pause

Progress, March on

With the veil over our eyes

We turn out back on the cause ‘Til the day that my uncles can be united by law

When kids are walking ‘round the hallway plagued by pain in their heart

A world so hateful some would rather die than be who they are

And a certificate on paper isn’t gonna solve it all But it’s a damn good change us

We have to change us Whatever God you believe in

We come from the same one Strip away the fear

Underneath it’s all the same love

About time that we raised up!

[Hook]

[Outro: Mary Lambert]

Love is patient, love is kind

 Love is patient

 Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

 Love is patient (not crying on Sundays)

Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

 Love is patient (not crying on Sundays)

Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

 Love is patient (crying on Sundays)

Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

 Love is patient (not crying on Sundays)

Love is kind (not crying on Sundays)

Love is patient

 Love is kind

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/macklemore/samelove.htm

Activism is not only an onstage way of addressing issues….about airing views. I believe it is also offstage. If it meant being formal, it would be boring. After hearing ‘Same love’ by Macklemore, I knew it was a form of activism more than music itself. Music is art but loses conveying a message out there. But with a more activism tone, I bet the message is meant to hit hard. These days music is not just mere art, it is an instrument to communicate less communicated issues in society. In Macklemore’s song, he talks about homophobia/ homosexuality. About how conservatives think being gay is a random decision and how religion is believed to change one who is homosexual. Without further debating it, religion cannot help but God can. Without any surprises, being gay has been attacked by religious stances. He speaks through this song about how we are all God’s children without predispositions and paraphrasing the Bible, a book written 35 hundreds years ago. He acknowledges the impunities gay people face daily because of who they are and how communities are less accepting. He then equates “homophobia” to other global issues such as racism. The sense in this song, reiterates how being gay and or lesbian is a culture formed from oppression. I have thought to myself that whatever is preached in the house of the Lord, precisely in church, spoken as hate speech loses its functionality, its power and literally promotes voiceless people. He wishes to see others united regardless of same sex qualms and challenges. No matter how it may seem, same love is the same. No matter what religion you may follow or God you believe in, we all are from the same one. Macklemore then says, I can’t change even if I wanted to, even if I tried.

Who could have thought someone would echo such an issue through a song? I mean, this is a real global issue. Presently in Uganda under the leadership of President Yoweri Museveni there has been an implementation of the Anti-homosexuality Act previously known and referred to as “Kill the Gay bill” which was passed in its parliament with a death penalty proposal dropped in favour of life prison to people who are homosexual. ‘Draconian measures’ I thought to myself. Why dictate a life of another? Why judge others? I am certainly ‘a nobody’ to ask such questions. I love writing but I think speaking through a song is amazing. I would like speaking through a song, being an activist through music.

2 thoughts on ““MUSIC IS NOT ONLY ART, IT IS ACTIVISM”

Leave a Reply

